top of page

WBFF Meritorious Service Awards

Acknowledging Outstanding Contributions

Meritorious Award

Mr. Nikunj Parekh

Mr Nikunj Parekh is a senior, respected Bonsai exponent and Master with the credit of establishing the art of Bonsai in the Indian subcontinent. A Founding Director of the WBFF, Mr Parekh is the President of the Bonsai study Group, a club he co-founded with Mrs Jyoti Parekh, his wife. He set the foundations of establishing theroots of bonsai all over India and has consolidated them over the past four decades.

Nikunj Parekh.jpg
Mr. Nikunj Parekh.jpg

Meritorious Award

Mr. Hu YunHua

He used to be the director of the Bonsai Research Office of the Shanghai Botanical Garden, the director of the Shanghai Garden Bureau, the vice chairman of the Bonsai Branch of the Chinese Society of Landscape Architecture, and the chairman of WBFF (2009—2013).

He is now WBFF Honorary Chairman and has five Bonsai-published books,

Hu YuHua Meritorious service award.jpg
Hu Yun Hua.jpg

Meritorious Award

Mr. Felix B. Laughin

Felix currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Blue Ridge Bonsai Society and on the Society Board of Directors of the North Carolina Arboretum.  He also currently serves as Legal Consultant to the World Bonsai Friendship Federation (“WBFF”).


Felix was President of NBF from 1996 to 2018, and Co-President with Jack Sustic from 2018 to 2020 (  From 2001 to 2005, Felix served as Chairman of WBFF.    

Felix Meritorious service award.jpg
Felix potrait 2.jpg

Meritorious Award

Mr. Lindsay Bebb

His 4-year term as Chairman of WBFF beginning in 2017 was extended by one year because of the Covid epidemic and he subsequently Co-Chaired the first Virtual World Bonsai Convention.

Lindsay has been providing voluntary service to the bonsai community nationally and internationally, continuously for 52 years, and is still active in helping individuals and organizations around the world.

Lindsay currently serves as Patron of the National Bonsai & Penjing Collection of Australia.

Lindsay bebb awards.jpg
bottom of page